MOTORCYCLE

Got harley, suzuki or honda?
It is currently January 6, 2009, 2:29 am

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 05:22:57
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 05:22:57
Hi all,

Ive received a letter through the post, claiming to be from Regal
Credit Consultants in Bagshot, Surrey. It reads:

IMPORTANT
Please contact Mrs King on
regarding a very important matter.
Please quote reference .
Thank you.

The and are real, and there is a Regal Credit in
Bagshot, but a few things are making me suspicious:

- Its addressed to the occupier, not me
- It looks a bit amateurish
- There are no real details of what they want to talk about
- the website in the letterhead is www.regal-credit.co.uk , rather than
www.regalcredit.co.uk, which appears to be the official one. They look
similar, but not quite the same...
- The phone number they want me to call is not listed on the real
website
- The address on the letterhead is a PO box.
- AFAIK, I dont owe anybody!

A quick Google for Regal Credit Scam hasnt thrown anything up. I
guess the solution is to phone the number that I know to be associated
with the genuine company and have a word with them. The genuine company
MUST be OK because theyre listed as a local business on Surrey Heath
Councils website. Just wondered if anyone else has had one of these
letters, or heard of a scam...

TIA
Tarby


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 13:25:42
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 13:25:42
Tarby777 wrote in message
news:1163942577.263532.78480@m7g2000cwm.googlegroups.com...
> Hi all,
>
> Ive received a letter through the post, claiming to be from Regal
> Credit Consultants in Bagshot, Surrey. It reads:
>
> IMPORTANT
> Please contact Mrs King on
> regarding a very important matter.
> Please quote reference .
> Thank you.
>
> The and are real, and there is a Regal Credit in
> Bagshot, but a few things are making me suspicious:
>
> - Its addressed to the occupier, not me
> - It looks a bit amateurish
> - There are no real details of what they want to talk about
> - the website in the letterhead is www.regal-credit.co.uk , rather than
> www.regalcredit.co.uk, which appears to be the official one. They look
> similar, but not quite the same...
> - The phone number they want me to call is not listed on the real
> website
> - The address on the letterhead is a PO box.
> - AFAIK, I dont owe anybody!
>
> A quick Google for Regal Credit Scam hasnt thrown anything up. I
> guess the solution is to phone the number that I know to be associated
> with the genuine company and have a word with them. The genuine company
> MUST be OK because theyre listed as a local business on Surrey Heath
> Councils website. Just wondered if anyone else has had one of these
> letters, or heard of a scam...
>

Is it an 090 number? Thats the usual scam. And the fact that its on Surrey
Heaths website means squat.

Ali


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 05:32:43
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 05:32:43
Alison Hopkins wrote:
> Is it an 090 number? Thats the usual scam. And the fact that its on Surrey
> Heaths website means squat.
>
> Ali

Hi Ali,

On what I *believe* to be the kosher site, its an 01276 number. On
what I believe to be the dodgy site, its an 08717. In the letter Ive
received. Its an 0800.

Cheers,
Tarby


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 13:38:29
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 13:38:29
Tarby777 wrote in message
news:1163943162.955770.264460@b28g2000cwb.googlegroups.com...
> Alison Hopkins wrote:
>> Is it an 090 number? Thats the usual scam. And the fact that its on
>> Surrey
>> Heaths website means squat.
>>
>> Ali
>
> Hi Ali,
>
> On what I *believe* to be the kosher site, its an 01276 number. On
> what I believe to be the dodgy site, its an 08717. In the letter Ive
> received. Its an 0800.
>

Hm. Not the 090 scam then. Id call the kosher company and ask them, if I
were you. And document all conversations. :)

Ali


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 13:51:23
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 13:51:23
Tarby777 wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> Ive received a letter through the post, claiming to be from Regal
> Credit Consultants in Bagshot, Surrey. It reads:
>
> IMPORTANT
> Please contact Mrs King on
> regarding a very important matter.
> Please quote reference .
> Thank you.
>
> The and are real, and there is a Regal Credit in
> Bagshot, but a few things are making me suspicious:
>
> - Its addressed to the occupier, not me
> - It looks a bit amateurish
> - There are no real details of what they want to talk about
> - the website in the letterhead is www.regal-credit.co.uk , rather than
> www.regalcredit.co.uk, which appears to be the official one. They look
> similar, but not quite the same...
> - The phone number they want me to call is not listed on the real
> website
> - The address on the letterhead is a PO box.
> - AFAIK, I dont owe anybody!
>
> A quick Google for Regal Credit Scam hasnt thrown anything up. I
> guess the solution is to phone the number that I know to be associated
> with the genuine company and have a word with them. The genuine company
> MUST be OK because theyre listed as a local business on Surrey Heath
> Councils website. Just wondered if anyone else has had one of these
> letters, or heard of a scam...
>
> TIA
> Tarby
>

Just rip it up and bin it.

Normally I only pay attention to something that is
1. Addressed to me
2. From a company I *know* and deal with
3. Is in connection with something I *know about*

Unless youre interested in these things from the viewpoint of
protecting your fellow citizens. In that case I dont know who you would
contact, police maybe, or trading standards.

I think I can recommend The Real Hustle on digital BBC, I reckon its
the best bit of TV recently. Although it concentrates on face to face
scams, Im sure the psychology behind them is similar.

--
Donald
CBR600RR5


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 13:52:06
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 13:52:06
Tarby777 wrote in
news:1163942577.263532.78480@m7g2000cwm.googlegroups.com:


>
> - Its addressed to the occupier, not me

IMV its either a direct marketing device or more likely a debt recovery
agent attempting to trace someone that lived at your address. Have you
moved in recently, say within the last 2 years: this seemed to be the time
that creditors took to get the message that debtors no longer lived at my
old student house.

Either way, bin/recycle it. Its nothing to concern you. If they were
persuing a debt that was allegedly yours then they would have your full
contact details and state the name of the creditor.


--
wessie at tesco dot net

BMW R1150GS


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 14:38:47
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 14:38:47
Donald wrote in message .
>
> I think I can recommend The Real Hustle on digital BBC, I reckon its
> the best bit of TV recently. Although it concentrates on face to face
> scams, Im sure the psychology behind them is similar.

I have had a few pints using some of the scam probability bets they have
shown, but only off mates. I am quite surprised the detail they go into.
Although interesting, there must be scrotes watching who will be given all
the knowledge they need to con, thieve and rip people off.

Bill


Top
 Profile
 
 Post subject: OT: Possible credit scam
PostPosted: 2006-11-19 14:41:21
Online
Registered User

Joined: 2006-11-19 14:41:21
co10 wrote:

> I have had a few pints using some of the scam probability bets they have
> shown, but only off mates.

I dunno if The Real Hustle showed it, but the bet that two people in a
crowded room will share the same birthday has worked for me, many times.



--
BMW K1100LT 750SS CB400F CD250 Z650
GAGARPHOF#30 GHPOTHUF#1 BOTAFOT#60 ANORAK#06 YTC#3
BOF#30 WUSS#5 The bells, the bells.....


Top
 Profile
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



 Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
No new posts Google scam?

0

2008-07-25 14:57:43

No new posts OT : Credit Cards....

0

2008-07-09 16:45:29

No new posts Re: Credit Card/Bank fraud

0

2008-07-08 18:59:45

No new posts Credit Card/Bank fraud

0

2008-07-08 09:35:15

No new posts OT: Its always a scam ...

0

2008-04-17 02:56:38

No new posts OT: Scam of the century

0

2008-03-13 09:17:20

No new posts HPI LIMITED SCAM

0

2008-03-04 04:21:15

No new posts Totally OT : Credit Control Software

0

2008-02-01 02:06:52

No new posts 0 Balance Transfer Credit Cards

0

2008-01-31 01:43:23

No new posts Pagion TOG: Credit card scam

0

2008-01-11 16:56:28


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alex Ferrier,Scotty,Phil, 7 guests, projekty domów rss bobski the builder Meble krakow tours


New posts New posts    No new posts No new posts    Announce Announcement
New posts [ Popular ] New posts [ Popular ]    No new posts [ Popular ] No new posts [ Popular ]    Sticky Sticky
New posts [ Locked ] New posts [ Locked ]    No new posts [ Locked ] No new posts [ Locked ]    Moved topic Moved topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group